How many elective PSC modules do I need to complete?

  • Raphael Jucobin
  • Tuesday 07th December
  • 1 min read

As part of the Professional Skills Course, you’ll be required to complete four elective modules on top of the three compulsory ones you undertake in the first eight days of the programme.

Through these modules, you’ll be expected to undertake up to 24 hours of learning, while the rules set out by the Solicitors Regulation Authority state that up to half of this training can be carried out via remote means.

Are there any alternatives?

Alternatively, The University of Law allows you to replace these four modules with the option of taking on two modules covering Higher Rights of Audience lasting two days each, which could be of interest to you if you’re looking to go into a career in litigation in the future. These would last two days each, culminating in a written and oral exam respectively

How much choice is there?

The remainder of the electives can be divided into three categories - Practice skills, Contentious skills, and Non-contentious skills. There are up to fifty to choose from, so you can tailor your Professional Skills Course to your own interests as well as your professional needs depending on the legal practice area you’d like to explore or that you’re working with during your placement.

Scroll to top