PSC Explained: Non-Contentious Skills

  • Raphael Jucobin
  • Tuesday 07th December
  • 2 min read

Non-contentious Skills form the third of the four subcategories which the elective modules offered by The University of Law come under.

Similarly to Contentious Skills modules, it looks to develop your knowledge in specific practice areas, in issues which don’t involve any disputes. These sections of law include the following:

  • Corporate Law,
  • Commercial Property,
  • Commercial Law and Intellectual Property,
  • Private Client.

Under Corporate Law, you’ll have the following modules to choose from:

  • Acquisitions and Disposals of Shares,
  • Share capitals and Directors Duties,
  • Corporate Borrowing and Taking Security,
  • Corporate Drafting,
  • Company Formation, Management and Share Capital,
  • How to read a Company’s Accounts,
  • Stock markets and Flotation,
  • Understanding the City,
  • Understanding Corporate Tax transactions,
  • Corporate insolvency.

Commercial property will cover the legal standards related to acquiring property for investment purposes as well as drafting and negotiation:

  • Sale and purchase transactions,
  • Drafting commercial leases.

Commercial Law and Intellectual Property includes the following modules:

  • Drafting IP Licenses,
  • Practical Contract Law,
  • E-commerce and Data Protection,
  • Practical Commercial Contract Drafting.

Finally, the modules that come under Private Client vary in assumed knowledge, with the first of the three modules intended as an introductory course for those who haven’t taken the elective at LPC level already:

  • Wills and Inheritance Tax,
  • Wills Trusts and Tax,
  • Estate Planning.

Scroll to top