PSC Elective modules

  • Raphael Jucobin
  • Tuesday 07th December
  • 1 min read

The elective modules make up 24 of the 72 hours that form the Professional Skills Course, with the bulk of the 12-day course dedicated to the compulsory modules. You’ll usually take them once you’ve completed the initial core modules in the programme, while up to half of the time spent studying an elective can be carried out through online training.

How does it work?

Unlike the obligatory components of the course, the content of elective modules isn’t specifically set out by the Solicitors Regulation Authority, and it’s up to providers and employers to devise an offering that could fit the specific requirements of the trainee. 

For instance, The University of Law offers a wide range of electives as part of its PSC course, with nearly 50 to choose from. Each module consists of a six-hour training session held over one day, and you would be expected to pick four from the following categories:

  • Practice skills: for example, Impact and influence; Advanced communication skills; Presenting to persuade; Legal technology,
  • Contentious skills: Personal injury; Family law; Employment law; Criminal law; Dispute resolution,
  • Non-contentious skills: Corporate law; Commercial property; Commercial law and intellectual property; Private client,
  • Higher rights of Audience.

As a result, you’ll have a wide range of options to choose from depending on your specific area of interest in the field of law, or your professional requirements specific to the role you’d like to go into.

Scroll to top